Gaming Technology News

We’re playing ‘Splatoon 2’s Global Testfire and so are you

You won’t be able to buy the follow up to Nintendo’s hit Wii U competitive shooter until Summer, but if you have a Switch you can play the game today. Over the course of the next three days, Nintendo will hosting the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire — an online multiplayer demo that teases gamers with the sequel’s levels, weapons and whimsical style in six, one hour chunks. The first two are today at 12pm PT (3pm ET) and 8PM PT (11PM ET).

Nintendo marketed the original Splatoon in almost the exact same way — by giving Wii U owners a small taste of the game’s frantic 1990s inspired battlegrounds a few weeks ahead of the title’s launch. Unfortunately, this Testfire is just as limited as the original: if you aren’t available during the event’s short one-hour stints, you’re out of luck. At least there are a lot of options. If you miss today’s times, you can try again on March 25th at 4am PT (7am ET), 12pm PT (3pm ET) and 8pm PT (11PM ET) and once more on March 26th at 4am PT (7am ET).

Can’t do any of those times? Don’t worry. We streamed the first session on Facebook Live to give you a preview of what you can expect when the game launches later this year. Check it out in the player above!